[REVIEW] Shakespeare’s Star Wars – Ian Doescher

Here’s my first merch review – I always see cool clothes, figures, books, comics etc on the web but I can never find full reviews of the products to see if it’s worth my hard earned cash. I thought I’d throw in my two cents on some of the stuff I own.

Enter STORMTROOPERS, searching. Enter PRINCESS LEIA, holding a blaster.

Christmas 2013 was a particularly nerdy one for me – amongst the plethora of treats I received was Ian Doescher’s masterpiece, Shakespeare’s Star Wars. I’d had my eye on it for some time after spotting it in Travelling Man so I was thrilled to unwrap it on Christmas Day.

It’s no real secret that I’m a lover of the bard (Much Ado About Nothing is my favourite if you were wondering) so taking the cover of this book had me hooked in immediately. I’m not going to pretend I understand every word used by Shakespeare but I’ve read enough to be able to translate it in my head. But if you know A New Hope, you’re gonna be just fine reading this.

The book itself is really good quality, the illustrations are very nice and the text is a good size and well-spaced with makes the actual content much less intimidating. A wall of text + that text being early modern English is a fairly terrifying thought.

The script has been translated with real care and I was really impressed by the attention to detail in terms of the words and phrases used. I’ve got a real urge to film some scenes of it just to hear it all put together.

It’s also hilarious – Darth Vader force choking Conan Antonio Motti – Luke being bothered by thugs in the Mos Eisley cantina (see to the right) – it’s all wonderfully done.

O help/ Me, Obi-Wan Kenobi, help. Thou art/ Mine only hope.

The book is available online at Amazon as well as in Travelling Man stores.

Does anyone else have this book – what are your favourite bits?

Leave a Reply

