Blog soundtrack: Riders of Rohan – LOTR The Two Towers

I don’t think I need to explain why I love this – what an emotive piece of music. I’ve recently been playing Lego Lord of the Rings again and was caught off guard when this track started playing, I’d forgotten what an emotional hold it still has on me.

I am majorly Team Rohan – Ancient British history running right up until the 10th century is a source of much fascination for myself and a large part of the background of Rohan is grounded in Anglo-Saxon tradition with which Tolkein had a strong affinity. The Anglo-Saxons were defeated my the Normans at the Battle of Hastings in 1066 and some have speculated that the Rohirrim are Tolkein’s imagination of a Anglo-Saxon cavalry which could have rivalled the Normans.

This song not only draws on my love of Tolkein’s work & Jackson’s adaptions, but on a love of history too. Perfic’

Leave a Reply

